CFAES Give Today

Department of Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering


2023 FABE Student Scholarship and Awards Banquet Results

April 19, 2023
2023 FABE Student Scholarship and Awards Banquet

On Tuesday, April 18th, 2023, the Ohio State Department of Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering (FABE) held its annual Student Scholarship and Awards Banquet. The banquet honors faculty, staff, students and alumni for contributing to the department's advancement in 2023. 

The keynote speaker was Jim Smith, CEO of Elford, Inc., the largest locally owned and operated construction company in Central Ohio.

This year, there were several incredible award and scholarship recipients: 

IPAG Distinguished Alumni Award

Matt Lemon

IPAG Outstanding Service Award

Dr. Beenish Saba

IPAG Industry Contributor Award

Geringhoff, LLC and Lincoln Electric

IPAG Outstanding Staff Teacher Award

Dr. Kristen Conroy

Graduate Teaching Award

Ashley Herkins

FABE Graduate Leadership and Service Award

Shyam Singh

Graduate Research Award

Master's: Neha Joshi and Ph.D.: Jaden Tatum

Henry J. Barre Award for Graduate Study in Agricultural Engineering

Jaden Tatum

The Reverend Pavlos T. Taiganides-Distinguished Professor/Robert E. Steward Memorial Award

Ashley Herkins

FABE Outstanding Seniors

Isias Manriquez, Samuel DiTirro and Allison Patrick

FABE Distinguished Senior

Madison Kacica, Cassidy Brozovich, Spencer Logan and Dante Spieker

Several student scholarships were also given out, totaling 69 students and over $126,000 on a departmental level. 

Finally, the FABE and ASM Senior Capstone and Design awards were given out. 

ASM Outstanding Communicator Award

Intercomp Weigh in Motion Scales: Spencer Logan, Brendan Good, Evan Young

ASM Outstanding Innovator Award

Optimal Tractor Sizing in Ohio: Owen Wallace, Michael York, Mason Straker

FABE Outstanding Communicator Award

NASA Group: Cassidy Brozovich, Justin Davis, Saisiri Panjugala and Satvik Kethireddy

FABE Outstanding Innovator Award

Infinity Labs Group: Tyler Humphreys, Brian Higinbotham and Louisa Pigg

Thank you to all who came to the 2023 FABE Student Scholarship and Awards Banquet, and congratulations to all of the winners!