CFAES Give Today

Department of Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering


FABE Student Scholarship and Awards Banquet Great Success

April 13, 2018
Department of Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering Student Scholarship and Awards Banquet

Earlier this week, faculty, staff, students, alumni, industry partners, and friends of FABE gathered to celebrate their achievements and another phenomenal academic year at the annual Department of Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering Student Scholarship and Awards Banquet.

Students present their capstone design projectsThe day began with seniors in agricultural systems management (ASM) and food, agricultural and biological engineering (FABE) presenting their Capstone Design posters. Seniors in ASM and FABE work on capstone projects all year beginning in the autumn. Projects are sponsored by industry partners from around the world seeking these student teams to help solve real problems.

Following the presentations, the FABE banquet began. This year, the keynote speaker was Dean Cathann A. Kress, who shared words of wisdom with the audience and joined in the celebration of a great year of accomplishments. Dr. Scott Shearer, Professor and Chair of FABE reflected on a number of achievements made by faculty, staff, and students throughout the year before beginning the awards portion of the evening.

In addition to annual awards, the Department of Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering awarded over $100,000 in financial aid to over 60 undergraduate students and incoming freshmen for the 2018-2019 academic year.

Continue reading for the full list of awards and scholarships presented at the 2018 FABE Student Award and Scholarship Banquet:

Faculty, Staff, and Industry Awards:
Presented by Dr. Scott Shearer

Distinguished Alumni Award

  • Stanley W. Joehlin

Outstanding Service Award

  • Kurt Keljo, Franklin SWCD

Industry Contributor Award

  • The Lincoln Electric Co.

Outstanding Staff Teacher Award

  • Michael J. Lichtensteiger


Graduate Student Awards:
Special thanks to our student awards presenters (left to right) Trey Colley, Manny Barnes, Jenna Lee, and Justin HaerrPresented by Trey Colley

FABE Graduate Teaching Award

  • Subbiah Nagappan

FABE Graduate Leadership and Service Award

  • Jeffrey Kast

Graduate Research Award

  • Asmita Khanal (MS Award)
  • Ashish Manandhar (PhD Award)


Undergraduate Student Awards and Scholarships:
Presented by Jenna Lee, Justin Haerr, and Emanuel Barnes

George and Betty Merva Scholarship Endowment

  • Paul Bowman

Sam Huber Undergraduate Teaching Award

  • Brooke Robinson
  • Kendra Harder

R.D. Barden Scholarship Award in Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering

  • Michael Schmenk

Richard T. and Iola Keller Brown Scholarship Fund

  • Emily Russell

Ardith K. Nolte Food, Agricultural, and Biological Engineering Scholarship Fund

  • Spencer Bauman
  • Holden Edmonds
  • Josh Hollinger

McCuen Award

  • Christopher Baird
  • Anousheh Lawrence

Central Ohio Associated General Contractors Scholarship

  • Emanuel Barnes

Alice Lucile Russel Scholarship Fund

  • Michael Schmenk
  • Tristan White

Paul Rofkar Scholarship Endowment

  • Josh Elledge
  • Hayley Jenkins
  • Tanner Matthews
  • Gaoshoutong Si
  • Clare Sollars
  • Megan Williams

Alan Clay Bondurant Memorial Fund

  • Nicholas Hixenbaugh
  • Jenna Lee
  • Jack Lynch
  • Lukas Moreland
  • Tristan White

Frank Irons Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering Scholarship

  • Morgan Dent
  • David Keck
  • Karen Morawski
  • Anthony Wiley

Ross/Abbott Laboratories Undergraduate Minority Endowment Scholarship

  • Matt Carlisle

Homer W. Joehlin Memorial Scholarship Fund in Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering

  • Bailey Cadena
  • Marshall Downing
  • Sydney Dull
  • Joelle Hemmelgarn
  • Donovan Kitchen
  • Jeffery Smith

R.C. Miller Student Award Fund

  • Matthew Klopfenstein

Cecil and Eloise Robinson Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering Endowment Fund

  • Carter Simons

Carl Kipp, Jr. Paygro Garick Scholarship Fund

  • Brian Jacoby

David L. Kahler Power Equipment Award

  • Austin Sigman

Ohio AgriBusiness Association’s Ag Systems Management Scholarship

  • Christopher Shoup

The Fredrick Ives Chair's Scholarship Fund

  • Jacob Lesch

Robert J. and Yvonne E. Gustafson Scholarship Fund

  • Robert Kramer
  • Noah Weyrick

Lamp Fund in Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering

  • Douglas Balbaugh
  • Tanner Shinkle
  • Natalie Stiwald

Consolidated Grain and Barge (CGB) Scholarship

  • Justin Haerr
  • Rex Tietje

Joseph D. Blickle Educational Development Fund

  • Joseph Bielanski
  • Derek Goodman
  • Nathan Hazzard
  • Samuel Riekert
  • Joseph Smith
  • Jonathan Clark
  • Dylan Erks
  • James Fulton
  • Alexander Kutz
  • Brendon Ring
  • Abigail Stewart
  • Natalie Stiwald
  • Ryan Schatz
  • Shana Weidner